Naples. Day 1

Pavement pizza cafe, trafic noise.

Great flight. All on time. Short walk to find my lift for transfer to Casa Vacanze Carolina. A dirty, scratched car pulls up and loads my suitcase into the back. I get in the front passenger seat of an uncared for, rarely cleaned car. But hey, it delivered me through the thronging, noisy streets of Naples to my Booking.com room also in a thronging, noisy street. Once I had mastered the digital entrance locks, it turned out to be a peaceful room. Very comfy double bed. Massive telly on which I found a classical music programme, the only channel I could almost understand. The tap for the shower fell off in my hand but I lodged it back in place and had a good hot shower in the tiny cubicle.

I ventured out to look for food. A short walk found me at a pizza take away, pavement cafe, with a huge choice of fresh made pizzas. I chose a Napoli and it delivered with all the right ingredients and at 6.50, good value. I had been told you get reasonable priced food in Italy but the drinks can soon put your bill up, but I was a little surprised at an 11 euro bill. That meant 4.50 for one small beer! Seemed alot but I didn’t quite have the confidence to question it and took it as a lesson to ask the drinks price first next time!The street life was hectic. Trafic a constant stream, hooting and screaching along, loads of buzzing scooters ladened with Mum and Dad or older sisters and brothers, with small child sandwiched inbetween. No helmets.

Back to my room and I read for an hour or so then slept for a couple of hours, waking just before midnight. Just as well, as for sure the huge blast of bangs from fireworks would have woken me from any slumber! Wonder what they were about? So starts today. I have a shuttle taxi ordered to take me to the train station. I wonder what salubrious vehicle will come to pick me up! Meanwhile 2 slices of cold pizza till I find a cafe for breakfast.

Leave a comment